SASAS was inaugurated in 1983. It is administered by a Council, comprising four officers (President, Vice President, Honorary Secretary, Honorary Treasurer) and six Councillors, all of whom are re-elected every two years. We have a constitution that set the rules of the society.

The Present council is formed of

Liesl Dyson (Secretary)

Mary-Jane Bopape (Co-President)

Stephanie Landman (Treasurer)

Christien Engelbrecht (Co-President)

Thando Ndara

the 2008 2020 council

​​​​​​​​​the 2008 2010 council had 10 council members. They are listed below:


Executive Council

Prof Sivakumar Venkataraman (President), University of Kwa-zulu Natal.

Dr Mary-Jane Bopape. (Vice President)

Dr Liesl Dyson (Secretary): University of Pretoria (sasocatmsci at

Stephanie Landman (Treasurer): South African Weather Service



Prof Mathieu Rouault, University of Cape Town. Web site newsletter.

Dr Christien Engelbrecht (Membership): Agricultural research Council

Dr Rebecca Garland. CSIR. Stanley Jackson Awards also with Mary-Jane.

Dr Hector Chikore. University of Venda.