SASAS was inaugurated in 1983. It is administered by a Council, comprising four officers (President, Vice President, Honorary Secretary, Honorary Treasurer) and six Councillors, all of whom are re-elected every two years. We have a constitution that set the rules of the society.

All SASAS-related queries should be sent to sasocatmsci at gmail.com

The Present council is formed of:

Executive committee:

President: Francois Engelbrecht (Francois.Engelbrecht at wits.ac.za) in charge of international partnerships and membership matters

 

Vice President: Rebecca Garland (rebecca.garland at up.ac.za) in charge of national and international partnerships, SASAS medal and SASAS awards

Secretary: Anzel De Lange (anzel.delange at ul.ac.za and sasocatmsci at gmail.com for SASAS queries)

Treasurer: Elizabeth Viljoen (elizabeth.viljoen at weathersa.co.za)

Council members and their portfolio:

Hector Chikoree: Stanley Jackson Award  (hector.chikoore at ul.ac.za)

​Mathieu Rouault: website,news and SASAS medal  (mathieu.rouault at uct.ac.za)

Michael Barnes: website, news   (michael.barnes at monash.edu)

Lesetja Lekoloane: Membership matters  (lesetja.lekoloane at weathersa.co.za)

Mokhele Moeletsi: Membership matters   (mmoeletsi hotmail.com)
Liesl Dyson: Special project (liesl.dyson up.ac.za)
Nkanyiso Mbatha: Conference proceedings &
Stanley Jackson Award (nkanyisombatha5 at gmail.com)

 

The 2017 2021  council was formed of

Liesl Dyson (Secretary)

Mary-Jane Bopape (Co-President)

Stephanie Landman (Treasurer)

Christien Engelbrecht (Co-President)

Thando Ndara

The 2014 2016 council

​​​​​​​​​the 2008 2010 council had 10 council members. They are listed below:

 

Executive Council

Prof Sivakumar Venkataraman (President), University of Kwa-zulu Natal.

Dr Mary-Jane Bopape. (Vice President)

Dr Liesl Dyson (Secretary): University of Pretoria (sasocatmsci at gmail.com)

Stephanie Landman (Treasurer): South African Weather Service

 

Council

Prof Mathieu Rouault, University of Cape Town. Web site newsletter.

Dr Christien Engelbrecht (Membership): Agricultural research Council

Dr Rebecca Garland. CSIR. Stanley Jackson Awards also with Mary-Jane.

Dr Hector Chikore. University of Venda.