SASAS organizes an annual conference since 1984 at which the general assembly is also held.

At the annual SASAS conference the Stanley Jackson Award is presented for the best peer review paper published within the two years before the conference.

The 2021 SASAS Conference was held online on the 18th and 19th of November 2021. Find program here and find book of abstracts here. It was organized by Prof Liesl Dyson with help from MSc student Brian Nkala. Two honorary members were approved during the AGM:


Gert Johannes Rudolph Coetzee (CV here) and Gerhard Held (CV here)

The winner of the best student presentation were:


First prize: Greg Landwehr, Maximum Energy Producing Synoptic Weather Types of South Africa’s Eastern Cape Province


Second prize: Henno Havenga, Severe convective storms characteristics under varied urbanization scenarios

​​2019 Conference    2018 Conference   2017 Conference   2016 Conference     Before 2016